Magic paint

Hey love, don’t ignore me
Haven’t you seen the smile?
You’ve painted it yourself
Here, see it spread wide across my face.

I don’t know
what sort of paint you used
but for some unfathomable reason
it stays.
I carried it, from the office,
to the streets,
to my home.

The usual unpleasantries
— none of it could mar your masterpiece.
Not the old bloke
who teased me with malice.
Not the puddled streets
that harm my sprightly steps.
Even the angered banter
of stray cats and dogs.
None.

Oh love,
I miss you.
Stay: I could will myself to stay still
and be your canvass.
I swear I could,
save for this poor, beating thing in my chest.

2 thoughts on “Magic paint

Say what you think!

