Life is short;

Life is fragile.

81H
http://www.gratisography.com/

Yolanda rendered a rookie like me… shaken.

I have no vivid idea, no inkling about what is to fear.  Comparing the “super typhoon” with Ruping didn’t help as I was just a young tot back then.  I had no memories about that crazy typhoon, only stories (animatedly retold by my parents).

But as I watch my mom packing, my clueless heart gradually sank.  Before dear Yolanda, I had never (and thank God!) experienced any serious calamity – fire, flood, et cetera – save for earthquakes.  Though we may had had it with the 7.2 magnitude quake and dozens of pesky aftershocks, we were by far, always at the giving end – the one to donate, the one to offer prayers for our fellow folks.

But Yolanda change all that.

As I pack my belongings, conflicting emotions started to budge in.  It’s as if they, too, wanted to be stuffed in my bag.  I knew: I had to be strong, just like everyone else.  Yolanda was unfortunately, stronger.  Subtely, she was ripping me off of any strength I have aimlessly constructed.  She cunningly placed in exchange that knee-shaking weakness next to me, complemented with the awareness of death that will either claim me, someone I know, or someone called Filipino.

http://littlevisuals.co/page/2
http://littlevisuals.co/page/2

Throughout the packing ordeal, I managed to sniff and stop my tears.  With my head above everything else, I took what was necessary – my sister’s files and mine.  A few bunch of clothes had to be wrapped in plastic.  Everything else had to be left.  And that’s when I realize: if this typhoon takes me, something else will remain.

I still have notes and books to be read.  I have yet to wear that owl-printed blouse; I thought I was saving it for something special (apart from some mundane occasion called Existing).  And there’s these few exchanges with people to whom I have continually wronged, or worse, ignored.  Perhaps, I should have said…

I think, as best as we try, we can never completely check off our list.  Ever.  Damn, we are but mortals.

But we can always try.

174 days since November 8, 2013.

Say what you think!

